Blogroll Shuffle II, personal news

Some blogs have a “kitchen sink” approach to collecting blogroll links, and I often come to them when I’m looking for something new (JD2718′s is good) but I approach my blogroll with a “museum curator” standpoint, which means sometimes I have to rotate the exhibits. I have put in a fresh batch of 7 and added the old links to the annotated blogroll. (If yours has been left out, please don’t interpret it badly. This is just a selected assortment out of many very good blogs.)

I also have added a “puzzles” section, which is mostly filled with Nikoli-style puzzles. If you don’t know what Nikoli-style means, please try the links: you are missing an entire world! I would recommend starting with Grant Fikes. One the blogs (Mokauni’s) is in Japanese; save it until you are fully comfortable with the standard puzzle types.

I would also like to take the opportunity to mention I am taking a leave of absence next year to join the faculty of the University of Arizona. I will be working with elementary and middle school teachers teaching them how to teach mathematics, and developing an online curriculum to do the same.

9 Responses

  1. [...] Jason Dyer: I am taking a leave of absence next year to join the faculty of the University of Arizona. I will be working with elementary and middle school teachers teaching them how to teach mathematics, and developing an online curriculum to do the same. [...]

  2. Congratulations, Jason, that sounds like a fun year ahead! Where are you teaching now? (I couldn’t find an ‘about Jason’ post.)

  3. If she’s still around, look for Ginny B. She was with the CRRMT last I heard (two years ago?). She’s one of the best, most caring teachers I’ve ever had the pleasure of working with.

  4. Kitchen sink, eh? I do throw out dead links, but that’s culling, not curating.

    Congrats on the new gig; always good trying to make a difference.

    Jonathan

  5. Thanks for the puzzle links. Since I first read this, I’ve been spending all my free time going through Grant’s archives.

    • I’m so glad you wrote that, Kate. I had passed right over that part of Jason’s post, and came back just now and looked. I think I’ll print some from that first blog on the list, for my next airplane ride. They look fun.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 120 other followers

