The queue

I’ve got a growing pile of things to write about. Post if you want something sooner rather than later.

Common core standards:
Comments on the common core standards (9-12)
What Common Core assessments might look like
[And one secret post]

Ancient math history:
What’s the earliest mathematical artifact? (part 3)
What’s the earliest mathematical artifact? (part 4)
On the Ancient Egyptian Value of Pi redux (Do the Pyramids encode pi?)
On the Ancient Phoenician (Bible) Value of Pi

Educational futurism:
Textbooks of the future
Classrooms of the future
Teacher networking of the future

Multiplication is not repeated addition:
The best article you’ll ever read on multiplication not being repeated addition [Note: educational study.]
Tarski’s axiomatization of the reals
The relationship between multiplication and addition via category theory

Logic: [Vote for this if you like the exposition posts on technical mathematics.]
On alien logic [How one might think without AND, OR, or NOT.]
Post’s lattice
Set theory in paraconsistent logic

Lesson plans:
Teaching logarithms with Stevens’ Power Law [psychology experiment]
Q*Bert teaches the Binomial Theorem
Doing real mathematical research with high school students
[And tons more.]

8 Responses

  1. Lots of these sound interesting. I particularly like the sound of —

    Logic: On alien logic
    Ancient math history

    On the other side, I think I’ve had enough on multiplication vs repeated addition to last a lifetime!

  2. I vote for the logarithms! :)

  3. I’m going to vote for the multiplication / addition via category theory article because I just learned about category theory last summer and I like how it messes with my head.

  4. More practically, the “doing real research with high school students” one sounds good too.

  5. I’m going to go with Multiplication is not repeated addition and common core assessments because I’m assessment obsessed.

  6. I’m going to vote for the multiplication / addition via category theory article because I just learned about category theory last summer and I like how it messes with my head.
    +1

  7. Doing research with high school students–just because I’m a high school student who’s had a taste of math research and I’m curious what you have to say.

  8. [...] under: Education, Mathematics « Project goal oriented sequencing The queue [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 131 other followers

