Why to stop worrying about your blogging numbers

Here is a recent graph of my blog hits:

That’s a new record for this blog, in the 900s. It’s the result of my comedy post. It was simply a link to elsewhere and the product of about four minutes of work.

Meanwhile, my post on helping language learners read mathematics, the product of about 6 months of painful introspection, registered on my stats like this:

The former was a post getting a lot of one-shot visitors, whereas I imagine the latter was simply processed through Google Reader.

Moral: don’t worry about the day-to-day visits. Just write about what you want and eventually the readers will come.

(Kate Nowak and Sam Shah have good recent posts on starting your own blog, if you’re thinking of it.)

6 Responses

  1. Double check. My most popular page is some random thing I wrote about a Harvard math class (http://samjshah.wordpress.com/2008/06/06/math-55-the-hardest-freshman-course-in-the-country/), and it gets google searched a lot. I get about 10/15 hits a day for it. What does that mean? Pretty much nothing.

  2. [...] Starting a math blog (notes from Kate and Sam and Jason and ???) May 31, 2010 pm31 10:39 pm tags: f(t), math blogging by jd2718 Fine discussion started by Kate, picked up by Sam, continued by Kate, pointed to by Jason… [...]

  3. [...] Starting a math blog (notes from Kate and Sam and Jason and ???) May 31, 2010 pm31 10:39 pm tags: f(t), math blogging by jd2718 Fine discussion started by Kate, picked up by Sam, continued by Kate, pointed to by Jason… [...]

  4. Thanks for the reminder. You know, I had a similar reaction when you commented on my word problem post which I had just tossed off, more as rant than anything else.

  5. I’ve been writing my blog for almost 4 years now and the only thing the number of hit is good for is to tell me what people find interesting or useful. Some of the articles I wrote in my first year are still getting hits everyday over 3 years later.Who knew at the time. I find that kinda satisfying.

  6. [...] Why to stop worrying about your blogging numbers My experience is just like Jason’s: my highest ever number of hits came from an absolutely nothing post, merely a link to a short-term online contest, that for some crazy reason is still drawing traffic. Meanwhile, some of my favorite posts languish in obscurity… [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 138 other followers

