Trig Graphs Do Look Rather Nice

Today’s slide:

Sin cos tan

This is an older slide of mine I used today. These days I’m trying to be more conscious of my visual layout so any comments would be welcome.

Also, a bit of explanation: for sines and cosines like in asin(bx) the formula \frac{2 \pi}{b} is generally called the period (the length between the start and end of a cycle). I find this confusing because the letter b gets no name at all. So I call b the period number and length of the cycle the period length.

Regarding the “sketch”: I have my students work with a sketch of one cycle on regular paper first and figure out the relevant parts before they move it to graph paper.

Leave a Reply

