Keen Place for Statistics

This is the sort of thing that it seems like everyone should have heard of and I’m late to the party.

US Census Bureau Statistical Abstract

Rather than just what you’d expect (population) this site collects data statistics from just about every area you could imagine. Check out, say, Students Who Reported Carrying a Weapon: 1993-2005 (in percent).

Anywhere:
1993 22.1
1995 20.0
1997 18.3
1999 17.3
2001 17.4
2003 17.1
2005 18.5

In School:
1995 9.8
1999 6.9
2001 6.4
2003 6.1
2005 6.5

There’ s all sorts of fun talking points and raw material for math modeling problems. Even if the data isn’t up to 2008 the charts indicate where the data came from so you can go to the source.

4 Responses

  1. That’s some interesting data! I wonder what happened in 2005 that reversed the downward trend?

  2. That does seem like more than a random fluctuation. It has definite good potential for classroom discussion.

  3. I just wanted to take the time to thank you for sharing information! I’m a math teacher, and I LOVED using the Off-Road Algebra videos in my pre-algebra and algebra classes! Thank you again!

  4. Thank you! I haven’t got much feedback yet outside my personal circle so I appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

