My upcoming talk at the 8th MEAD Conference

Out in Tucson, Arizona, if anyone happens to be that way:

8th Annual Mathematics Educator Appreciation Day Conference
Saturday, January 21, 2012

Session: Lessons from Game Design for the Classroom
Audience/Level: General Interest
Presenter: Jason Dyer
Description:
A trend in recent educational research has been not just incorporating games into the classroom, but methodologies from modern game design. Learn about nonlinear lesson planning, hint tokens, Csíkszentmihályi’s concept of flow, gamification, and more!

Note that this isn’t “math games for the classroom” (although a few will come up) but rather “what have we learned from game design theory that applies to educational design theory?”

I’ve posted about some of these things before; nonlinear lesson planning will be in its full-blown rather than prototype stages.

6 Responses

  1. I’ll be there! If all goes well, I’ll be in your session too!

  2. I love the idea of games in the classroom and think its a great way of reaching students. I’d definitely be interested in hearing more about this.

  3. Slides, audio, video, notes. I’d be interested in any of that.

  4. […] in the Tucson area around January 12th, I highly recommend attending the MEAD conference. Jason Dyer and I will be […]

Leave a Reply

